Posted by: sophiecouture | September 3, 2008

The Smile

By Donna Jo Napoli

 

Elisabetta has never thought of herself as beautiful, or even pretty for that matter.  Her father has always claimed her loveliness, but she always waved that off as affection for her as a daughter.  By a chance meeting on the street, Elisabetta meets the famous painter Leonardo Da Vinci.  He immediately notices her mysterious smile.  Leonardo introduces her to the best of society, and the highest family in Florence, The Medici’s.  Lisa unexpectedly falls for one of the young men in the family… but tough times befall the powerful family.  It is not a safe time for her to love him. 

 

Donna Jo Napoli tells the story about the famous smile of Mona Lisa in a new light.  The plot was good, and always twisting.  I knew the book was about the famous painting, but didn’t at the same time.  I can’t really explain, but it was a good thing!  The writing was good and easy to comprehend, but intelligent.  I felt that I knew the history of Florence better after reading this book.  I also felt that I knew Mona Lisa’s story better too.  I enjoyed this book a lot, and am glad I gave it a try! 

 Scale (1-10): 8

 

 

Responses

  1. This sounds like a very interesting book. I will have to find it next time I am at the library.

  2. Ooh, definitely sounds like an interesting basis for a book. I like those “the story behind the painting/other work of art” books.

  3. Ooh, definitely sounds like an interesting basis for a book. I do like those “the story behind the painting/other work of art” books.

  4. This looks really good. Cool plot and I’ve actually been interested in this time frame in art lately. Probably from reading Leonardo’s Shadow (which was excellent) 🙂

  5. This sounds really cool! Another book for my to-read list. 🙄

  6. Hmm, I’ll have to read it. I’ve read a couple of Donna Jo Napoli books before but haven’t really clicked with them. The description reminds me of a book I read awhile back, based off a Boticelli painting–“Primavera”, by Mary Jane Beaufrand. I think it was about the Medicis.


Leave a Reply

Categories

