Posted by: sophiecouture | July 5, 2008

Rapunzel’s Revenge

By Shannon & Dean Hale, illustrated by Nathan Hale

 

Everyone knows the story of Rapunzel—girl, shut away in a tower, evil step-mother, etc., etc., etc.  They might’ve even heard retellings of the story… but never have I seen Rapunzel’s story told like this before.  Set in the Wild West, this graphic novel is well written, fun, and entertaining.  I couldn’t put it down.  The story starts off with Rapunzel’s “original” story, and then rises from there.  She and her best friend Jack swear revenge on her evil kidnapper, and the plot is set. 

 

I have never read a graphic novel before… ever.  But I read a great review on Miss Erin’s blog, and all of the kind folk on LittleRedReadingHood.com were getting very excited for it, so I thought I’d give it a try.  For sure I wasn’t disappointed.  Shannon and Dean were hilarious—I swear that the good relationships in book were based off of their own.  And Nathan Hale (illustrator with no relation to Shannon and Dean) was an amazing artist.  Amazing.  Let me repeat it again: amazing.  I was shocked at how well everything was put together, how all of the ideas fit together like puzzle pieces… and still there were three master-minds behind this novel!  I would be very interested to find out how they all did it… working together without killing each other in the process.  And a piece of advice when reading this book: read slowly.  Look at the pictures.  Savor the book for itself.  I did, and it was so much better that way!

 

So, the verdict of this review?  I now have a much better appreciation for graphic novels, and will definitely start looking twice at them in the stores.   

 

Scale (1-10): 10 (that’s two tens in a row people… maybe I’m getting soft)

Responses

  1. I’m quite excited to read this. 😀
    Glad you liked it.

  2. “For sure I was disappointed.”

    What? You said you loved it! Is that a typo?

  3. I’m so excited to read this! I’ve never read a graphic novel before either, but if it’s Shannon Hale, it’s gotta be good. That’s awesome that you got an ARC! So lucky! 😀

  4. Q-
    I meant “wasn’t”… thanks for catching the typo! For sure I wasn’t disappointed by the book!

  5. I will say it again – you are so lucky.


Leave a Reply

Categories

